Dental Board of Australia

Planned Maintenance Our banking partner will perform essential maintenance from 2:00am to 2.45am on Sunday 29/05/2016 (AEST) and from 2.00am to 2:45am on Monday 30/05/2016 (AEST). AHPRA's account services, registration renewal for health practitioners, online graduate applications, financial transactions and other online services will be unavailable during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Dental Board of Australia

Specialist Registration

There are thirteen dental specialties in Australia. These are approved by the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) and listed in the Dental Board of Australia (the Board) list of specialties. When a dentist holds registration as a specialist, including details of the specialty or specialties, it is listed on the Register of practitioners.

All applicants for specialist registration with the Board are required to meet the requirements listed in Board’s Specialist registration standard.

To use the title of dental specialist for each of the approved specialties, you must be registered with the Board in that specialty.

Information on how to apply for specialist registration is available on the FAQ page.

The process for some specialties is changing. Read more below.

New process for assessment

Under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme), the Australian Dental Council (ADC) has assessed overseas specialist qualifications for substantial equivalence to an Australian specialist program, on behalf of the Board.

From 1 July 2016 we will use a new process to carry out these assessments. The specialties affected by this change are listed below.

The Board is currently working with AHPRA to support a transparent and consistent assessment of applications for specialist registration from overseas trained dental specialists. This involves the development of a framework with clear criteria and evidence requirements.

We will publish detailed information on this framework prior to the new process beginning from 1 July 2016.

Transition period: 22 March 2016 to 30 June 2016

Any overseas dental specialist preparing an application for specialist registration with the Board is advised to wait until further information on the new framework is published before submitting an application.

All applications received by AHPRA before 22 March 2016 will be processed under the new framework when it is in place. AHPRA will communicate directly with these applicants.

All applications received by AHPRA before 22 March 2016 and already before an ADC panel will be processed under the old process. AHPRA will also communicate directly with these applicants.

All applications will be processed in a way that is consistent with the National Law.

What specialties are affected by the changes?

The change in the assessment process applies to applications from overseas trained specialists in the following specialties:

  • Dento-maxillofacial radiology 
  • Endodontics 
  • Oral medicine
  • Oral pathology
  • Orthodontics
  • Paediatric dentistry
  • Periodontics
  • Prosthodontics
  • Special Needs Dentistry.

Applications for the following specialties are not affected by this change:

  • Forensic odontology
  • Oral surgery
  • Oral & maxillofacial surgery, and 
  • Public health dentistry (Community dentistry).

More information on how to apply for specialist registration for these specialties is available on the FAQ page.

Page reviewed 22/03/2016