

Public consultation on a proposed revised Scope of practice registration standard and Guidelines for scope of practice

September 2018

Australian Dental and Oral Health Therapists' Association template

The Dental Board of Australia's (the Board) public consultation paper on a proposed revised Scope of practice registration standard and Guidelines for scope of practice opened for submissions on 22 March 2018 and closed on 14 May 2018.

The following submissions were based on template letters which were broadly similar to the sample provided at attachment A.

List of Submissions

Abdelkdous, Mary Brooker, Megan Elliot, Mary Abdulkarim, Abdo Bui, Thanh Erskine, Carolyn Abou-Zeid, Jawad Joseph Cane, Nikki Falconer, Caroline Abu-Giemi, Marina Canoy, Kevin Farag, Mina Ahmad, Naiha Carlson-Jones, William Fleming, Penny Alfrey, Jason Carroll, Kim Furlan, Ashlea Al-hadethi, Juhaina Casamento, Pamela rose Gabriel Gardner, Suzanne Dr Alim, Razma Cassar, Jennifer Cassini, Mariana Gaznawi, Krishma Appleyard, David Celikovic, Nina Arasu, Radhika Glynn, Sophie Chau, Tan Awad, Rasha Goodall, Jessica Bairamadgi, Komal Chen, Duo Gordon, Mackenzie Bakouris, Peter Chiutare, Farai Grant, Christine Balci, Halis Chuang, Chien Ying Grose, Ashleigh Ballard, Anita Church, Lauren Guilfoyle, Deanna Barker, Julie Churchill, Kathleen Haddon, Tania Barnicoat, Kristen Cobbledick, Liz Haidary, Salima Bartel, Mary Cogley, Kerry-Lea Harmony Basily, Gloria Corcoran, Catherine Hashem, Aiman Basily, Philopater Cotchin, Kirsty Hesketh, Rebecca Coulthurst, Josh Batool, Rubab Hew, Ashley Beach.Sarah D'Addario, Lucy Hill, Diana Beven, Emilee Dawson, Amy Hillary Bliesner, Phoenix Dhillon, Navin Ho, Hilary Borwick, Cherie Dickinson, Alison Hodges, Chelsea Boseley, Andrea Dignan, Lorraine Honnery, Kayla Briggs, Jamie Dunn, Cheryll Hood, Ellen Brittain, Tania Hood, Tracey

Dunstall, Angie

List of template submissions - ADOHTA

Horan, Mirela Hunt, Jessica Hunter, Kim Hyssoli, Natalie Ibrahim, Abdo Idris, Amel

Idris, Amel Jackson, Kaylene Johnsen, Robyn Johnson, Julie Karim, Nargis Keane, Alicia

Kelly, Danielle Kennedy, Alana Kettlewell, Kristy

Keen, Linda

Keys, Kerry Khaleqi, Mariam Kilvington, Sharon

Knolder, Luke Knowles, Amy Kuppa, Srinath Kurosz, Belinda Lai, Roonie Lane, Naomi Langtry, Rebecca Larkin, Ellen Lejarraga, Carla Li, Patricia

Lindeberg, Bradley

Lisa

Littlejohn, Annabel

Lo, Yun

Lonappan, Juney Loui, Kristy Lowe, Stacey Lumsden, Meg

Luu, Truc

Mackenzie, Beverley Manolas, Haroula Mansour, Peter

Marnie Martin, Sharron

Mason, Jana Mayne, Meaghan Mayze, Lara McBeth, Robyn McLellan, Helen Mikhail, Kristin Miki, Tomoko Miller, Ciara
Morphett, Hayley
Murray, Serena
Muttiah, Shalini
Nancarrow, Lluke
Naylor, Alexandra

Nguyen, Thi My Thoa O'Brien, Sandy Ottoway, Judith Ovcaric, Meilee

Pana, Maria
Patel, Chris
Peek, Krista
Peereboom, Rhett

Pesaturo, Danielle sent twice

Platell, Hellene Popalzay, Hogai

Priyanka Rakhlin, Michelle Ramsay, Victoria Ridley, Caroline Ridley, Melanie Righele, Catia

Riley, Robyn twice

Ritchie, Alexandra Roberts, Julie Rogers, Donna Romagnolo, Jennifer

Rose, Eleisha Ryan, Stephani

Safa, Ali

Safarian, Gevork

Salima

Sankey, Michelle Sannang, Raidah Sclavos, Kayla

Setiawan, Yohanes Chandra

Shaw, Ronda Siderides, Damian Slaughter, Kendall Sloan, Stephen Smallwood, Allison

Smith, Leah Stormon, Nicole Sunk, Akira Tan, Chern Yuu Tan, Tony Tanswell, Tori Taylor, Kirra Teo, Damian
Timmerman, Alan
Tran, Ngoc Hieu
Waldock, Noeleen
Wallace, Janet
Walter, Brooke
Walton, Vanessa
Wandrey, Lisa

Watkins, Janette

Weaver, Sabrina Qwee Yong

Webb, Stacey
Weekes, Michelle
Wendelborn, Leah
Wheaton, Cheree
Wheaton, Jeremy
Whitaker, Jane
Williams, Layken
Williams, Zoe
Willis, Anna
Wilson, Emma
Wray, Rebecca

Zhang, Amber

Dr John Lockwood Chairman, Dental Board of Australia G.P.O. Box 9958 Melbourne VIC 3001

Re: Scope of Practice Public Consultation

I am writing to commend and support the Dental Board's proposed changes to the Scope of Practice Registration Standard. The proposed changes will significantly improve the delivery of oral health services to the public and will enable all dental practitioners work to their full scope of practice based on their foundation training.

The focus on team dentistry is a model that optimises the best care for our patients whilst ensuring the safe and quality delivery of care. No dental practitioner should work independently and in isolation. The statistics from the Dental Board of Australia: Annual Report Summary 2016/17, demonstrates the safe provision of care by Dental Hygienists, Dental Therapists, and Oral Health Therapists as the workforce who received very low numbers of notifications, and were of low risk.

I support the submission made by the Australian Dental and Oral Health Therapists' Association (ADOHTA), the peak body for oral health practitioners.

I trust that this submission will further add to the sound rationale for these proposed changes. This will enhance the ideal that all consumers should receive dental care by the most appropriate dental practitioner at the right place at the right time. I support Option Two as recommended by the Board.

Yours sincerely,