

Communiqué

June 2017 meeting of the Dental Board of Australia

The 86th meeting of the Dental Board of Australia (the Board) was held on Friday 30 June 2017 at the National Office of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) in Melbourne.

This communiqué highlights key discussions and considerations from the Board's meeting as well as other important information.

We publish this communiqué on our website and email it to a broad range of stakeholders. We encourage you to distribute it to colleagues and interested parties, including in the organisation you work in.

Appointments to state and territory committees of the Dental Board of Australia

The Board has established state and territory committees to make decisions about individual dental practitioners in each jurisdiction. This includes all registration and notification decisions.

The Board has delegated many of its powers so that local decision-makers can respond effectively and in a timely way to local matters, working within a national policy framework.

The state and territory committees are made up of practitioner and community members and are appointed by the Board. Committee members' appointments expired on 30 June 2017 and a number of appointments have been made.

The Board thanks state and territory committee members who recently finished their terms particularly those members that transitioned to the National Scheme¹, Associate Professor John Dale, Dr Craig McCracken, Mr Donald Malcolmson, Dr Murray Thomas, and Ms Bronwyn Davies. The Board wishes them all well in their future endeavours.

The Board also welcomes all members newly appointed.

Thank you to outgoing chairs of committees

Dr Gerard Parkinson, Dr Mark Leedham and Associate Professor John Highfield finished their terms as chairs of the Western Australia, Northern Territory and New South Wales committees respectively.

All three chairs have provided leadership to their committees. They have worked tirelessly in dental regulation for many years to advocate for high standards of dental practice in their communities. The Board thanks them for their dedication. Dr Parkinson will continue as a practitioner member of the Western Australia committee.

Welcome to new chairs of committees

Dr Simon Shanahan, Dr Erna Melton and Professor Iven Klinberg have been appointed to chair the Western Australian and Northern Territory and New South Wales committees respectively. All are experienced committee members with wide-ranging clinical and regulatory experience. The Board welcomes them to their new role.

¹ The National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme).

New advertising information available for practitioners

The Board noted that new advertising information is now available on the AHPRA website to help dental practitioner **check** and **correct** their advertising so they **comply** with legal requirements.

It includes:

- examples of non-compliant advertising by registered health practitioners and changes that would help it to comply with the National Law²
- information about AHPRA's process for managing advertising complaints, and
- a summary of advertising guidelines.

Dental practitioners are responsible for their advertising and must be able to substantiate any claims made that their treatments benefit patients. If in doubt about a claim, dental practitioners should leave it out of their advertising.

More about advertising requirements is in the *Advertising resources* section of the AHPRA website at www.ahpra.gov.au.

Are your contact details up-to-date?

It is important that your contact details are up-to-date to receive renewal reminders from AHPRA and information from the Board. You can check your details via the <u>Login icon</u> at the top right of the AHPRA website. Email accounts need to be set to receive communications from AHPRA and the Board to avoid misdirection to an account junk box.

Conclusion

The National Board publishes a range of information about registration and the National Board's expectations of practitioners on its website at www.dentalboard.gov.au or www.ahpra.gov.au.

For more information or help with questions about your registration please send an <u>online enquiry form</u> or contact AHPRA on 1300 419 495.

John Lockwood AM

Chair, Dental Board of Australia
5 July 2017

² The National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme).